The Giants Guys

Giants announce 53-man roster

The New York Giants cut their roster from 89 players to the mandatory 53 on Saturday.

“As I’ve said, I feel like we’re on the right track,” coach Pat Shurmur said. “We had a competitive training camp that forced us to make some tough decisions. We will continue to look to improve the roster in any way we can. This day is never easy because you are dealing with people who have made a commitment to your program, and while we all understand the reality of the business we’re in, it doesn’t make it any easier. When we started camp, I told the players that my hope for all of them is that if they don’t make our roster, I want them to make somebody else’s. So that’s my desire for the men we parted ways with today.”

Veteran LB Mark Herzlich was released as were defensive backs Leonard Johnson and Chris Lewis-Harris, and offensive lineman Chris Scott.

Twenty six players were waived: running backs Jalen Simmons and Jhurell Pressley; wide receivers Roger Lewis, Jr., Kalif Raymond, Travis Rudolph, Alonzo Russell, Marquis Bundy, Amba Etta-Tawo, and Jawill Davis; tight ends Ryan O’Malley and Garrett Dickerson; offensive linemen Malcolm Bunche, Zac Kerin, and Victor Salako; defensive linemen Robert Thomas, A.J. Francis, Tyrell Chavis, and Izaah Lunsford; linebackers Calvin Munson, Warren Long, and Moss; defensive backs Grant Haley, Mike Jones, Orion Stewart, Andrew Adams and kicker Marshall Koehn.

Two offensive linemen were placed on injured reserve: Nick Becton (ankle/wrist) and rookie free agent Nick Gates (foot). Defensive lineman RJ McIntosh, the Giants’ fifth-round draft choice this year, was placed on the reserve/non-football injury list and defensive lineman Josh Mauro was placed on the reserve/suspended list as a result of being suspended by the NFL for the first four games for violating the NFL’s performance-enhancing drugs policy.

The final roster

Offense (27)

QB (4): Kyle Lauletta (R), Eli Manning, Alex Tanney, Davis Webb

RB (4+1): Saquon Barkley (R), Wayne Gallman, Robert Martin (R), Jonathan Stewart, Shane Smith (FB)

WR: (5): Odell Beckham, Jr., Cody Latimer, Hunter Sharp, Russell Shepard, Sterling Shepard

TE (4): Jerell Adams, Rhett Ellison, Evan Engram, Scott Simonson

C/G (6): Evan Brown (R), John Greco, Jon Halapio, Will Hernandez (R), John Jerry, Patrick Omameh

T (3): Ereck Flowers, Nate Solder, Chad Wheeler

Defense (23)

DL (5): Josh Banks, Damon Harrison, B.J. Hill (R), Dalvin Tomlinson, Kerry Wynn

OLB (5): Connor Barwin, Lorenzo Carter (R), Kareem Martin, Romeo Okwara, Olivier Vernon

ILB (4): Ray-Ray Armstrong, Tae Davis (R), B.J. Goodson, Alec Ogletree

CB (4): Eli Apple, Donte Deayon, Janoris Jenkins, B.W. Webb

S (5): Sean Chandler (R), Landon Collins, William Gay, Curtis Riley, Michael Thomas


Special Teams (3)

K: Aldrick Rosas

P: Riley Dixon

LS: Zak DeOssie


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

%d bloggers like this: